The Russell Varian Prize and Lecture

Nominations for Russell Varian Prize 2015 are closed

The Russell Varian prize honors the memory of the pioneer behind the first commercial Nuclear Magnetic Resonance spectrometers and co-founder of Varian Associates. The prize is awarded to a researcher based on a single innovative contribution (a single paper, patent, lecture, or piece of hardware) that has proven of high and broad impact on state-of-the-art NMR technology. The prize is designed to recognize the initial contribution that laid the foundations for a specific technology of great importance in state-of-the-art NMR. The award ceremony will take place at the EUROMAR 2015 meeting in Prague, Czech Republic, 5th – 10th July, 2015, with the winner delivering the Russell Varian Lecture.

Rules for the Russell Varian Prize

  • Only single pieces of work are considered (a paper, a lecture, a patent, etc).
  • In the case of multiple authorship, the prize is awarded to the author with the largest creative and innovative share of the contribution. In the exceptional case of truly equal shares in the contribution, the Prize may be split between two authors.
  • No individual may receive the prize more than once.
  • Prizewinners become members of the Advisory Board for the Russell Varian Prize that evaluates future nominations and makes recommendations to the Prize Committee.

Prize Committee

Jean Jeener (Chairman), Krish Krishnamurthy, Vladimir Sklenář (EUROMAR 2015 representative), Gareth A. Morris (Secretary), Lucio Frydman, and Ole W. Sørensen.

Advisory Board for the Russell Varian Prize

Weston Anderson, Ad Bax, Nicolaas Bloembergen, Ray Freeman, Erwin Hahn, Martin Karplus, Alex Pines, Alfred G. Redfield.

Full announcement


The Raymond Andrew Prize 2015 – Call for nominations

Nominations for Raymond Andrew Prize 2015 are closed

Late submissions will automatically be transferred to the next year.

Call for Nominations for the Raymond Andrew Prize for an outstanding PhD thesis in the field of magnetic resonance:

For the Raymond Andrew Prize 2015 the AMPERE Prize Committee is seeking your help in
searching for qualified candidates who completed their dissertation during the period of
2013/2014. The prize will be presented during the EUROMAR in Prague (Czech Republic) from
July 5th to July 10th 2015.

You are kindly invited to submit nominations by e-mail to:

Suggestions must be received by 15th February 2015 and should include the following

• Nomination letter
• Curriculum vitae
• List of publications and presentations at conferences
• PhD thesis in PDF

The thesis should be written in English. In exceptional cases, the thesis may also be
submitted in triplicate as a hardcopy to the AMPERE Secretariat. Please note that the nomination letter cannot be written by the candidate herself or himself.
Submissions that arrive too late will automatically be transferred to the next year. The
prize committee will reconsider excellent contributions for two years in a row.

For a list of past Andrew Prize winners see:

Sincerely yours,

Gunnar Jeschke

Full announcement


The Wiley Award - Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry

Nominations for Wiley Award 2015 are closed

The MRC Award for Young Scientists, established in 2006, is open to outstanding researchers under the age of 40 working with NMR spectroscopy in analytical chemistry within industry or academia in any part of the world. The Award will be presented annually at the Euromar conference and judged by the respective scientific committee. The Awardees will give a Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry Award Lecture at the appropriate sessions of conference, and receive a certificate and a cheque for 500 Euros.

Should you be interested in applying for the Wiley Prize, please check the option button ‘I wish to be considered for Wiley Prize’ during the abstract submission process.
For further information and past awards see: Wiley-Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry.


Congress Secretariat: C-IN, 5. kvetna 65, 140 21 Prague 4, CZE | tel.: +420 261 174 301 | fax: +420 261 174 307
Home | Sitemap |
Copyright © 2014 | Powered and created by E-WORKS - web studio | XHTML 1.0 | CSS 2